What size board do I need?

General discussions about windsurfing: equipment, setup tips, problems, where to go, where you should have been, lost and found
dcardew

What size board do I need?

Post by dcardew »

Hello,

I'm a newb! I windsurfed when I was younger, on floater boards, and now want to get back into, almost 13 years later. I went out to Elk Lake and rented one of their boards and remembered how to do it. Now I'm looking for gear. What size board should a beginner buy that will let him learn on and not hold him back. I want something that I can uphaul on, I weigh 180lbs.

Another issue is that I want to sail in the Victoria area, what size of sails should I be looking for?

Thank you,
Dave
I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy. – Tom Waits
downwind dave
Website Donor
Website Donor

Post by downwind dave »

welcome! :D what was the rental board and were you comfortable on it? Volume is your friend if youre going to learn around victoria. when I was learning 13 years ago i used a 200l bic calypso with 5.7 and 7.0 sails for caddy bay and elk lake. after a couple years i got that thing planing across nitinat with a 5.0, i even took it down to cook st. one time.
im no WS instructor so hopefully some much more useful info will come your way. beware of advice masquerading as sales pitch though which reminds me you will certainly need a nice chinook boom much like the one im selling in the forum. :wink:
Windsurfish

Buy a Go board!

Post by Windsurfish »